2019 Hall of Fame Inductees

Every year the Booker T. Washington Distinguished Hall of Fame recognizes alumni, patrons and former members of the school’s faculty and administration who have who have exhibited high qualities of leadership, are noted for high levels of achievement, have been awarded recognition in their field of endeavor or have made meritorious contributions to the school and society on local, state, national or international levels in the area of philanthropy or community service.

Bobby Eaton Jr.

A 1972 graduate, Bobby Eaton Jr., has performed with Memphis Horns, Sly Stone, Peabo Bryson, Natalie Cole, Ike and Tina Turner and DJ Rogers. Since returning to Tulsa in 2016, Eaton has made an effort to share his production skills with the launch of an online talk radio show hosted and produced by local youth. 


Karl Engel

Vice president of sales for Fellers Marketing and Advertising, 1984 graduate Karl Engel manages more than 100 internal and external sales accounts across the country. The former cross-country standout is also a graduate of the University of Tulsa and regularly volunteers with the Hornet track program. 


neile Jones

Known across northeastern Oklahoma for her work at KTUL, 1991 graduate Neile Jones has received state and regional awards for her reporting. Prior to returning to her hometown, Jones spent 17 years as a reporter and anchor in Arkansas and covered the 2014 Sochi Olympics for Nexstar Broadcasting. The frequent community volunteer is also a published author, with her 2010 book, “Look Again…Because You Can” detailing her experiences as a domestic violence survivor. 


State Sen. Kevin Matthews

Prior to joining the Oklahoma legislature in 2012, state Sen. Kevin Matthews served 25 years with the Tulsa Fire Department, retiring as an administrative fire chief in 2010. A 1978 graduate of Booker T. Washington High School, Matthews is also an alumnus of the University of Central Oklahoma and a member of Phi Beta Sigma.